top of page

About SJRCD 

The South Jersey Resource Conservation & Development (SJRCD) was authorized in 1976 after the USDA received a request for assistance from the County Freeholders and local Soil Conservation Districts in the South Jersey area.


Early sponsors of the SJRCD recognized the opportunities available to nonprofit organizations and filed for an official determination letter from the Internal Revenue Service. In 1977, the SJRCD Council was incorporated in the State of New Jersey as a Charitable Trust. In 1978, the Council received recognition as a U.S. Internal Revenue Service 501(c)3 charitable trust.


Through its history, the governing body of the SJRCD has been its council members.  Each year the sponsoring counties and soil conservation districts have appointed representatives to the Council. The Council also had the power to appoint at-large members. The Council’s Executive Board of five officers directed the day-to-day operation of the Council.


The SJRCD Council was structured to have 19 Council members representing eleven counties (Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, and Salem) appointed by the County Freeholders; and eight soil conservation districts (Burlington, Camden, Cape-Atlantic, Cumberland-Salem, Freehold, Gloucester, Mercer, and Ocean).


bottom of page